The Network

‘Community Club’ is a phrase that is becoming more and more popular when talking about football and other sports. Lot’s of Clubs do lots of great things in their community, and many supporters feel like they morally own their Club but when SD Club Development talks about ‘community ownership’ we mean that;

  • A minimum of 50% +1 of the voting rights of the Club to be controlled collectively by a democratic entity which has an open and inclusive membership
    • ‘Democratic’ to mean the membership of the entity to work on a one member one vote principle
    • ‘Inclusive’ to mean that there are no substantial barriers to participate as a voting member, with membership open to all that are sympathetic to the aims of the Club
    • Any profits are reinvested back into the Club as opposed to being distributed to shareholders.
    • The Club is committed to running as a sustainable business.

    List of community owned clubs

    Saffron Walden Town Seaton RFL stirling

It’s not to say that other forms of ownership don’t work and should be ignored, but our research suggests that Community Ownership opens up a number of benefits to a Club that are much harder to achieve or not possible to achieve in a privately owned Club.

The clip below is featured thanks to BBC Sport and features Matt Slater visiting supporters of Wrexham FC who own their Club and Portsmouth FC supporters keen to follow in their footsteps.

Below is a list of Clubs that meet this criteria and are members of Supporters Direct. Click one of the League systems below to find out more. Or for something more visual have look here

General (6)

English Football League

AFC Wimbledon – Level 4

Exeter City Football Club – Level 4

Portsmouth FC – Level 4

Wycombe Wanderers Football Club – Level 4

AFC Telford United – Level 5

Wrexham FC – Level 5

Chester FC – Level 5

Enfield Town FC – Level 7

FC United of Manchester – Level 7

Hendon FC – Level 7

Lewes FC – Level 7

Tonbridge Angels FC – Level 7

Bamber Bridge – Level 8

Prescott Cables FC – Level 8

Merthyr Town FC – Level 8

Fisher FC – Level 9

Newport IOW – Level 10

Runcorn Linnets – Level 9

AFC Rushden and Diamonds – Level 9

Congleton Town FC – Level 9

1874 Northwich – Level 9

Scarborough Athletic – Level 8

Hinckley AFC – Level 10

Newark Town FC – Level 11

American Football

Aberdeen Roughnecks – Level 2

Scottish Football

Clyde – Level 4

Clydebank – Level 5

Stirling Albion – Level 4

Gretna – Level 4

Ireland Football League

Cork City – Level 1

Northern Ireland Football League

Crusaders – Level 1

Rugby Football League

Hunslet Hawks – Level 2

Rochdale Hornets – Level 3

Hemel Stags – Level 3

Bramley Buffalos – Level 4

Seaton Rangers RFL – Level 5

Mancunians RFL – Level 5

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • youTube
  • Linked In